Beetroot Feet!

I’ve started my socks!

What?  Really?

Bet you didn’t think I would!  Well, you’d better believe it……..

A half-knitted sock

Proof!
Copyright Charlotte Walford 2013

I’ve even turned the heel and (whisper it) I’m quite enjoying it… but shhh…. don’t tell anyone! 

I’ve chosen Beat Feet by Rachel Atkinson from Knit Now Issue 20 as they looked interesting enough, but not too taxing, so I could concentrate on the construction of the sock and getting a good fit, rather than worrying about complex stitch patterns.  It’s a nice pattern which has been well thought out so that you can knit mirrored socks and the cable pattern is nice and stretchy, so it should be comfortable to wear.

Beetroot Feet detail

Copyright Charlotte Walford 2013

There is one teensy little hitch though….. (no, not the fact that I will now want to knit all the socks)….. a week ago, gripped by the urge to get started, I grabbed this skein of dark purple yarn from my stash, where it has been hiding for some time.

I didn’t really think about just how dark the colour was, or the nature of dark hand dyed yarn (i.e. it will tend to have some loose dye).  So I didn’t consider before winding it into a ball and getting started that it would lose quite a bit of colour.  It was only after I had wound it (by hand – couldn’t be bothered to get the swift and ball winder out) that my fingers had a slight puce tinge about them.

I put it to the back of my mind and just started knitting.  I mean, I was concentrating on knitting magic loop (I don’t really like knitting small circumferences in the round), which I’d only done once before years ago (when I had absolutely no idea what I was doing) so I didn’t really stop to think about the loose dye.

The next time I looked my fingers were a colour that would suggest I had been preparing beetroot.  It does wash off eventually!  But if I’d realised earlier I would have washed the yarn before I started (note to self: next time don’t get so over-excited about a new project that you fail to notice anything else).  I will definitely rewind the yarn into a small skein and wash it before I start the next sock!

Wish me luck for the rest of the sock!

Lottie x

11 thoughts on “Beetroot Feet!

    • Thank you 🙂 I’m enjoying the pattern (it’s interesting enough, but not too difficult) and the cables have a nice rhythm to them so I don’t have to keep checking the chart! xx

      • I am starting my first pair this weekend, do you think two at a time socks are the way to go to avoid second sock syndrome? Or SSS?;) Okay, that was geeky but I’m gonna run with it!

      • I’m a bit of a geek too so SSS sounds good to me! Never tried two socks at a time but it seems like a good idea. As these are my first socks I thought I should try not to get too ambitious! Good luck 🙂 looking forward to see how you get on!

        Lottie xx

  1. Those socks look gorgeous ! So bad for the color leaking, to be honest I never wash my yarn before knitting, but maybe I should… if the color doesn’t go off your fingers, try to rub gently with a little soda powder (the one used for baking)

    • I don’t usually wash yarn before knitting, but I sometimes do with dark hand dyed yarn as there can often be loose dye in very dark yarns. I guess I was too impatient to get started this time. So far the best thing for getting rid of the dye is shampoo! I don’t know if this says more about the dye or my how fierce my shampoo is?! xx

Leave a Reply

